What language do they speak when ..

Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What language do they speak when ..

they cast their spells?

Hopefull not gibberish, I hate shows that do that.

Comment

It's English. Just a very early form of it. Check out the works of Geoffrey Chaucer for something similar (although Merlin uses an even earlier version).

Technically the whole show should be like it, but it's not about accuracy

Comment

I thought it was ancient Welsh or Celtic.

Comment

No, listen close. I studied Chaucer for A Level (for outsiders, a higher course you do after high school but before going to University/college) so know it well. Plus why would it be a Celtic language? They're not Celts in this version.

Plus I googled it to make certain before posting in case I was wrong
          Last edited by TMLS; 07-04-2009, 03:14 AM.

Comment

Originally posted by TMLS
            No, listen close. I studied Chaucer for A Level (for outsiders, a higher course you do after high school but before going to University/college) so know it well. Plus why would it be a Celtic language? They're not Celts in this version.

Plus I googled it to make certain before posting in case I was wrong
            I knew they weren't Celts, but ya never know what language they might be using on a TV show and I have no idea what Celt sounds like. In the old stories from my mother country everyone spoke Latin.

You give me this little informative thing and then say . . . "Plus, I Googled it." Silly, silly.

What is Antique/Ancient English called? Old Britannia maybe? My brother bought me a Forgotten English thesaurus/dictionary, but it's more words not often used anymore. Like 'verily'

I've seen Arthurian names written different, and in a few books they called it the Fae Tongue, but I have no idea what that is.

King Arthur became Kyng Artur
            Bedivere was Bedwyr.